Skip to content

Love Your Body (intro)

April 3, 2010

“Every woman has low self-esteem about her body…that comes with being a woman.” -Dennis Prager

Introduction

Ladies, when was the last time you had an “ugly day”? (For all you men out there, an “ugly day” is a far more malignant version of the bad hair day–infecting the entire body and soul.) To quote a Shania Twain song, “yeah, it just ain’t been my day, nothin’s comin’ easily, even my skin is acting weird….I just wanna disappear”.

I never imagined spending this much time developing my own self-image philosophy or that I would be writing an article with a title belonging on the cover of Lady’s Home Journal, (right next to the headline “Eat Your Way to a Flatter Stomach”).

So before you get the wrong impression, let me assure you that most of these ideas wouldn’t dare be printed in any women’s magazine, for they are not the result of a quest for feel-good feminism. Rather, through recent experiences and unsought revelations, new concepts of self-image have happily coalesced into my psyche.

I should preface this by saying that loving your body is not the same as being completely secure about how you look: insecurity is part of the female experience. As Dennis Prager rightly asserts, “every woman has low self-esteem about her body–maybe there are 10 on earth [that don’t], and they’re all [age] 19–that comes with being a woman.” 

We should all understand that loving ourselves has nothing to do with attaining perfection or denying our flaws. We are commanded to love our neighbors, even though they have a bunch of crap in their front yard and throw loud parties on the weekend. And yet as women, we somehow think that loving and even liking our bodies (despite a little “junk in the trunk”) is akin to being prideful. (And lets face it, we like to denigrate ourselves with the hope that someone else will prop us up: “no honey, you look great…those jeans don’t  make your butt look big.”)

File:Coronet Corset Co.jpgIt’s time to suck it up ladies, and begin to take seriously the call to appreciate our own bodies.

And I am happy to say, that it is possible.  From the most unlikely of sources, and without really trying, I am becoming a little closer to being able join Maria Montez in her exclamation: “When I look at myself, I am so beautiful, I scream with joy!”

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Don’t you feel better now?

(Stay tuned for step 1, coming soon…)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebekah Whitehouse permalink
    April 4, 2010 6:12 am

    Great so far… but don’t tease your readers like that!

    • April 4, 2010 6:19 am

      I promise I’m not trying to tease…it’s a matter of me running out of time to finish today 🙂 Miss you friend!

Leave a Reply

