Skip to content

Men, SPEAK UP!

January 3, 2009
This is a bit of a rant, so bear with me.

It’s generally a good idea not to listen to talk radio on a Saturday night, but as my car radio is preset to such a station, I happened to catch part of the Dr. Dean Edell show on my drive home. I don’t know much about Dr. Edell, besides him having a long-running talk show about health and medicine. The program is not political, but he does seem to have a libertarian bent

I should have turned the station when a listener called in to comment on abortion, but instead I listened…and got really, really mad. The man calling in had reached the brilliant conclusion that, being a man, he had no voice in the abortion debate. He couldn’t become pregnant, so what right did he have in telling a woman what she should do with her body? Dr. Edell replied in approving, reasoned tones about what a good point the caller was making: since biology determines that only women can bear children, men are well-advised to just opt out of the conversation.

This is the most idiotic argument I can imagine! And yet, I’ve heard it many times before in various forms: You’re white, so you can’t comment on affirmative action; you haven’t fought in a war, so you can’t comment on foreign policy; you’re wealthy, so you can’t comment on taxes. All of these are silly arguments, but few have the same potential for evil as the one regarding abortion.

Abortion is not a woman’s issue; it is a human issue. An unborn child is in a woman’s body, but it is not part of a woman’s body. And though you certainly don’t need my permission, I’m hear to tell my male friends that you have every right, and even an obligation to voice your concern over the well-being of that unborn child—particularly if it’s your child!

Never let a woman, or a man for that matter, manipulate you into feeling guilty for expressing your opinion. They may call you a chauvinist, sexist, or worse, but that is just the militant feminist’s strategy to get you shut up and avoid serious debate. But there is far too much at stake in this argument to keep silent. Suck it up, be a man, and speak up!

I feel better now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shaun Hall permalink
    April 9, 2010 2:09 am

    Were you being deliberately obtuse or did you really just miss the point completely?
    You see you aren’t talking about having opinions. Your very dearest wish is to use the law to enforce your point of view on other women who may not share it. The point at issue is at what point a fetus ceases being part of the mother and becomes a person, at least that seems to be the point of contention for many. I would hazard to say that most of the gentlemen who “opt out” on this issue aren’t suggesting that they have no right to an opinion. Instead they are saying that as they can have no comparable experience upon which to base that opinion that they have no right (and in many cases no desire) to try to force that opinion on any woman by virtue of making it a legal mandate.

    I do not claim divine insight into this issue so I’m not sure at what point a fetus becomes a person. It would seem quite the waste of time energy and finite resources for god to install a soul in every fertilized egg when the majority of them do not become people. By the same token babies survive seperated from their mothers before they would go through the normal birth process so the legal contention that life begins at birth and is only potential life prior to that is clearly not correct. My guess is that it happens somewhere in between, and that is all it is, a guess.

    Still it seems to me that the group of people who are best suited to discuss and legislate such an issue would be women who have gone through pregnancy. I’m thinking they would have insights that I lack, perhaps even ones you lack.

    Yours was a lovely rant, but sadly didn’t address the issue you were targeting. It is true that everyone is entitled to an opinion on this issue, but when you start talking about forcing your point of view on others, well some of us would like to work off of more than just a feeling if that is at issue.

    There are a lot of issues upon which I am so convinced I am right that I would be willing support legislation enforcing my point of view. This isn’t one. It doesn’t mean that I believe that I am wrong, but that I accept the possability that I might be and that probability is great enough that I am not comfortable trying to force my point of view on another.

    Now you may consider this arguement idiotic, and that is your right. If you plan to call it that I would appreciate it if you would address it directly rather than talking around it as if you were a really bad marksman.

Leave a Reply

